Perfect Fit Personal Training

A blog to enlighten you about health and fitness

Umbilical Hernia in Adults

on April 29, 2012

Have you ever experienced a hernia?

You may know someone that has, or have experienced it yourself. There are commonly known hernias called inguinal and umbilical hernias; different areas and different issues. There are other types of hernias, but I will not go into that here.

I found out about a year ago that I had an umbilical hernia. Pregnancy caused me to have a splitting of the rectus abdominus fascia (rectus diastasis) and that allowed omentum to seep through my abdominal wall and press through the umbilicus.

It’s only painful sometimes, but it’s time to have it repaired, and I’m a little freaked out!

Here is a great resource for umbilical hernias if you would like to learn more about them.

As a personal trainer, it’s hard to know that  I will have to take some time off from exercise and my clients, as well as losing muscle tone that I’ve worked to hard to gain. Luckily there is muscle memory, so it will come back sooner than if I was starting from scratch.

I would love to hear about your experiences with an umbilical hernia. How long was your recovery? Do you feel stronger now? Please leave your comments on your umbilical hernia so I can learn even more.

Have a great day,

Nicole

UPDATE, MAY 17, 2012

The hernia surgery was on May 7th; 10 days ago. By day 4 I was out of bed and moving around. By today, day 10, I was able to walk to and from the kids’ school, about a 20 minute round trip.


The pain is almost gone, and bruising is lessoned. I have a belly button again!

2 responses to “Umbilical Hernia in Adults

  1. Sebastian says:

    I had The same surgery 5 weeks ago and want to start P90X again. How long should i wait before starting to workout On a full throtle?? How long did it took you?? I dont want to tare my tissues again.
    Help

    • aerobixqueen says:

      I would wait at least six weeks to do any ab exercises. You don’t want to do anything that’s going to put pressure on your abs. Start slow, and build up to harder exercises. I didn’t do abs for about 6-7 weeks, then started slow.

Leave a Reply

